Phone- +91-370-2244227 | +91-370-2241731 | Email- info[at]nagalandforest[dot]in

Forest plantation is taken up mostly as Micro-Projects, in a minimum compact area of 30 ha. The plantation area is then divided into Annual Coupes (Annual plantation Area) depending on the extent of the area, so that the Micro-Project area is planted up within 3 years. As the state Government has adopted the joint Forest Management (JFM) resolution, all new plantations are taken up under the concept of JFM only.

Sometimes the planting of Tree species is done along with agricultural crops so that the return is maintained in the form of agricultural crops during the initial years of plantation. It has been found from that ‘Tree cultivation’ can be done successfully along with the ‘Jhum Cultivation’. Therefore, the Department is promoting this concept amongst the landowners.

All Centrally Sponsored Schemes are clubbed and implemented through National Afforestation Programme from 10th plan onwards. With the intent to make development processes less cumbersome and for the ease of the flow of funds, the ministry of Environment & Forests has introduced Forest Development Agency (FDA) on the lines of the DRDA. The main objective is to integrate forest development and rule employment into a single umbrella scheme. National Afforestation and Eco- development Board has brought these four scheme- Integrated Afforestation and Eco-development project, Non-Timber Forest Produce Area Oriented Fuel-wood and Fodder Programme, Association of Tribal &Rural Poor in Regeneration of Degraded Forests under one umbrella of National Afforestation Programme. These schemes have been operational through the Forest Development Agency (FDA) by forming the Village Forest Committees (VFC’s). Funds received from National Afforestation and Eco-Development Board by Forest Committees for implementation of the afforestation schemes, now, a village is a unit of project formulation and implementation.

At present the Forest Development Agencies are operational in all Territorial Divisions including Social Forestry Development Agencies are operational in all Territorial Divisions including Social Forestry Division, Kohima. The Social Forestry is implementing a project on experimental basis to standardize the Agro –Forestry practices in jhum areas.

The scheme title National Afforestation Programme (NAP) has been formulated by merger of 4(four) 9th plan Centrally Sponsored Afforestation Schemes of the Ministry of Environment & Forests, namely Integrated Afforestation and Eco- Development Projects Scheme (IAEPS), Area oriented Fuel wood and Fodder Projects Schemes (AOFFPS), Conservation and Development of Non-Timber Forest produce including Medicinal plants Scheme(NTFP) and Association of Schedule Tribes and Rural poor in Regeneration of Degraded (NTFP). National Afforestation Programme (NAP) became Operational during the 10th plan. The prime objective of this scheme is to ensure that by 2012; one third geographical area of the country shall be under tree cover. Under this scheme new modalities for sanction and implementation of the project have been introduce. Main objectives of NAP are as fallows;

  • Effective utilisation of Jhumland.
  • Ensure supply of fuel wood and small timber.
  • Checking of land erosion through soil conservation measures.
  • Maintenance of Ecological integrity of the region.
  • Generation of income and employment.
  • Development of common property resources.
  • Conservation and Promotion of Non-timber Forests produces.
  • Improve quality of life for the Forest Dependent Community.
  • Capacity building.
  • Use of improve technologies.

Forest Development Agencies (FDAs) have been constituted under National Afforestation Programme (NAP). These FDAs are registered under Registration of Societies Act,1860. The mode of implementation is on the basis of joint Forest Management. There are two in-built levels of its controls, one at FDA level and second at JFMC level. Each JFMC is to have its General Body & Executive body and it is mandatory that a certain percentage of membership has to be from womenfolk only (50% in General Body and 33% in Executive Body). For each Forest Development Agency, the concerned Conservator of Forests is the chairman and the Divisional Forest Officer is the member-Secretary, while Conservator of Forests (Publicity & Training) is the Nodal Officer (NAP) & Member Secretary for State Forest Development Agency (NAP) in our state.

There is a new component of National Afforestation Programme (NAP), which is known as Entry Point Activity (EPA). This component aims to solicit the support of the people by undertaking the non-forestry works, which are of community usage. A bold initiative has been whole-heartedly welcomed by the people, who are associated with the National Afforestation Programme (NAP).Under this head, following works have been carried out by different Forest Development Agencies (FDAs) in the state:

  • Community Hall & Rest Houses
  • Village Panchayat Hall & Village Court
  • Approach Road Construction
  • School Building Construction, School Bench Supply
  • LPG Connection, Improved Chullas
  • Rain Water Harvesting Tank & Water Supply
  • Waiting Shed
  • Multipurpose Building & Marketing Shed, Seed Money for Self Help Group(SHG) to establish poultry, piggery, floriculture, fishery, weaving units, etc.


Sl. No. FDA Advance Creation No. of VFCs
1 Dimapur 165 Nil 57
2 Dimapur (J) 35 Nil 35
3 Kiphire (WL) 25 Nil 20
4 Kohima 165 Nil 32
5 Kohima (J) 45 Nil 35
6 Kohima (SF) (J) 35 Nil 34
7 Mokokchung 295 Nil 35
8 Mokokchung (J) 70 Nil 20
9 Mon 165 Nil 41
10 Mon (J) 35 Nil 32
11 Phek 165 Nil 39
12 Phek (J) 35 Nil 20
13 Tuensang 165 Nil 35
14 Tuensang (J) 35 Nil 95
15 Wokha 165 Nil 36
16 Wokha (J) 35 Nil 33
17 Zunheboto 165 Nil 62
18 Zunheboto (J) 35 Nil 40
19 Peren 165 Nil 37
20 Peren (J) 35 Nil 53
21 DFO Doyang 35 Nil 10
22 WLW, Dimapur 25 Nil 10
  TOTAL 2095 Nil 811


CAT PLAN: The Doyang Hydel Electric Project (DHEP) with installed capacity of 75MW under the administrative control of North Eastern Electric Power Corporation (NEEPCO) has a submergence area of 3320HA (approx.). The total catchment area is approx. 260,600Ha spreading across five districts namely Wokha, Zunheboto, Kohima, Mokokchung, Phek. In order to ensure the longevity of the project, a detailed Catchment Area Treatment (CAT) has been planned and executed. The execution of CAT Doyang is vested with the Department of Forest and Department of Soil and Water Conservation, Government of Nagaland. The 1st phase project/pilot project of the Doyang catchment area treatment plan comes to a close in FY 2015-16. A total area of 1400Ha covering 20 villages was treated. Of these villages, 18 were in Wokha District and 2 villages under Zunheboto District. Activities undertaken during the year 2017-18:

  • Under FDA program, 10 villages namely Old Aree, New Aree, Littami, Mongphen, Massa, Nsanyutchu, Okotso, Sunglup, Yonchucho and Nungying were covered.
  • Meeting with 22 fringe villages around Doyang Reservoir on 8th May, 2017 to discuss on “pre-existing rights and privileges”.
  • Visit of Dr. Meena Kumari, Chairman National Biodiversity Authority to the roosting site of Amur Falcon on 27th-28th October 2017.
  • Implementation of Integrated Development of Wildlife Habitat (Amur Falcon Conservation) program in three (3) villages viz. Pangti, Sungro and Asha.
  • Carrying out elephant census 2017.